Monday, March 5, 2007

Lost season synopses

Lost season synopses

the principal characters of the third season of Lost; from left, Ben, Kate, Sawyer, Claire, Charlie, Jack, Sayid, Locke, Sun, Desmond, Hurley, Jin, Juliet (Nikki, Paulo, and the formerly starring Mr. Eko not pictured)

Season 1

Season 1 began airing in the United States on September 22, 2004 and featured 24 episodes that aired Wednesdays at 8:00. A plane crash strands the surviving passengers of Oceanic Flight 815 on a seemingly deserted tropical island, forcing the group of strangers to work together to stay alive. However, their survival is threatened by mysterious entities including polar bears, an unseen creature that roams the jungle, and the island's malevolent inhabitants known as the "Others". They encounter a Frenchwoman who was shipwrecked on the island over sixteen years earlier and find a mysterious metal hatch buried in the ground. An attempt is made to leave the island on a raft.

Season 2

Season 2 began airing in the United States and Canada on September 21, 2005 and featured 23 episodes airing on Wednesdays at 9:00. Most of the story, which continues 45 days after the crash, focuses on the growing conflict between the survivors and the Others, with the continued clash between faith and science being thematic in certain episodes. While some mysteries are resolved, new questions are raised. New characters are introduced, including the tail-section survivors and other island inhabitants. More island mythologies and insights into the survivors' pasts are divulged. The hatch is explored and the existence of The DHARMA Initiative and its benefactor, The Hanso Foundation, are revealed. As the truth about the mysterious others begins to unfold, one of the crash survivors betrays the other castaways, and the cause of the plane crash is revealed.

Season 3

Season 3 will feature 22 episodes that began airing in the United States and Canada on October 4, 2006. After a hiatus, the remaining episodes continued on February 7, 2007 and are scheduled to finish on May 23, 2007. The episodes were broadcast on Wednesdays at 9:00pm prior to the hiatus and at 10:00pm following it. The story continues 67 days after the crash. New crash survivors and others are introduced, as three of the crash survivors are held in captivity.